Brides Magazine - The tale of a silk hand-dyed skirt made and designed by Jennie Adamson and a fortuitous encounter at Most Curious!

November 24, 2018

In 2017 I decided to venture out of my comfort zone and exhibit at The Most Curious Wedding Fair in London . I tend to avoid wedding fairs like the plague but Most Curious was different, far more creative, far friendlier, far less Cadbury purple , far fewer diamanté - far more scope for Pompom Blossom ! 

 

I chose to decorate a larger inspirational space rather than a standard stand/table area as I had big dreams... Months and months of planning and designing went into the space and along the way I managed to find two vintage mannequins. Each one was nearly 7 feet tall and I have to admit originally I didn't quite know how I was going to incorporate them into the space. As they had last been used for a GCSE project, painted in garish colours and had seen far better days, Glenn set to work- sanding them, filling the cracks and repsraying them...

 

 

In the four years I have been hand-dyeing silk , my silk ribbon and fabric has primarily been used for weddings but I've also seen it used to adorn Christmas wreathes; to replace the degraded silk ribbon on a pair of shin quards belonging to a Japanese Samuari armor suit in a museum in the USA; to create a miniature Marchesa gown for a doll exhibition in Orlando Florida- and more recently to dress a show home in Atlanta and also the Country Living Magazine Christmas Show- but also many metres of silk fabric have been sold to designers and dressmakers to create their own wedding gowns.

 

Which sowed a seed...

 

And so with some trepidation I decided to approach Jennie...

 

Jennie Adamson is a bespoke tailor and pattern cutter who does freelance work but also creates for Gieves and Hawkes Savile Row. She was awarded the QEST scholarship for Excellence in Craftmanship 2016, the central Saint Martins Innovative Pattern Cutting in 2016 and was a Golden Shears Finalist in 2011 and 2013. So one very talented and extraordinarily gifted tailor - who just also very luckily (for me at least!) happens to be my niece!

 

Jennie very graciously agreed to design and make a silk skirt for me to dress my rather tall mannequin, why?!  I'm not entirely sure - but I will always be forever grateful! After many conversations back and forth, I dyed and sent over 29 metres of silk chiffon satin and silk habotai to Jennie's studio - Cockpit Arts in London . Slowly but surely a skirt began to take shape , although it presented a few challenges in that the sheer silk habotai was impossible to cut with tailor's shears!

 

I began to receive tantalising sneak peeks of Jennie's progress .. 

 

 On the day before The Most Curious Fair began , I collected the completed skirt from Jennie and was absolutely blown away by just how beautiful it was - Jennie's skill, her talent and her craftsmanship are second to none - and the skirt was beyond anything I could have imagined . 

 

The skirt took pride of place at the Pompom Blossom inspirational space at the wedding fair over three days and received many , many compliments, was photographed countless times and was featured on many blogs too! 

 

 It was whilst I was exhibiting at the Most Curious Wedding Fair that Lotte from Lamp Productions approached me, Lotte  was in the process of setting up an inspirational space at Marylebone One- The Wedding Gallery -the world's first luxury wedding 'department store' and in due course Pompom Blossom became one of the suppliers fortunate enough to be represented at The Wedding Gallery - the opportunities that I have been afforded from meeting Lotte that day have been phenomenal and Pompom Blossom has gone from strength to strength as a consequence . Thank you Lotte !!!! Which brings me to the the shoot with Brides Magazine...

 

Through Lamp Productions and The Wedding Gallery I was invited to collaborate on a shoot for the Lookbook in The Jan/Feb 2019 issue of Brides Magazine - I was utterly over the moon that Jennie's silk skirt was deemed perfect for the brief and Lucy Davenport photographed the skirt on a gorgeous model- Charlotte Godfrey . Lotte teamed it with a corset top by Suzanne Neville and heels by Emmy London - the results speak for themselves! 

 

Many , many thanks Jennie , I always hoped to get the skirt photographed and to one day do it justice, and through the invaluable collaboration with Lamp Productions, Brides Magazine and Lucy Davenport I hope we achieved that! xxx


 

http://jennieadamson.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Magazine - Brides Magazine Jan / Feb issue @bridesmagazine

Styling and planning - LAMP Productions @lamp_productions with @theweddinggalleryofficial 

Venue - Horniman Museum @hornimanmuseumgardens

Photographer - Lucy Davenport @lucy_davenport

Florist - Paul Thomas Flowers @paulthomasflowers

Furniture - Greathire - @greathireltd

Technical Production and bespoke Build - Box Productions - @boxproductions_uk

Cakes (Large copper / teal / sugar flowers) - Unique cakes by Yevnig - @uniquecakesbyyevnig

Cakes (calligraphy cakes / smaller sweet treats) - Monannie - @monanniecakes

Calligraphy - Second Star Lettering - @secondstarlettering

Stationery - Cutture - @cutture

Cocktails - The Cocktail Service - @thecocktailservice

Ring Boxes - The Mrs Box - @the_mrs_box

Rings - Monarc Jewellery - @monarc_jewellery 

Earrings - Laurence Coste - @laurence_coste

Embroidered napkins - Extra Special Touch - @extraspecialtouch

Cake stand with birds and dinner plates - Anthropologie - @anthropologie

Tableware - Couvert - @couverthire

Ribbons - PomPom Blossom - @pompomblossom

Candles - Jo Malone - @jomalonelondon

 

Hair and Make-up

Hair - Louis Byrne - @louisbyrne

Make-up - Kyra Valentina - @kyra.valentina

 

Wedding dresses

Suzanne Neville - @suzanneneville

Sassi Holford - @sassiholford

Temperley London - @temperleybridal @temperleylondon

Jennie Adamson jennie_adamson for Pompom Blossom - @pompomblossom

Shoes - Emmy London - @emmylondonofficial

 

Menswear

Casely-Hayford - @caselyhayfordbespoke

A. Sauvage - @asauvage

Shoes - George Cleverley - @georgecleverley

 

Please reload

Featured Posts

Rock my Wedding -Sleeping Beauty Romance with Rebecca Carpenter Photography

July 21, 2018

1/10
Please reload

Recent Posts

November 8, 2019

October 21, 2019

Please reload

Search By Tags
Please reload